The Council

Our governing body, the Council, ensures that our governance represents a wide spectrum of views and can draw on a multiplicity of talents.

There are four categories of Councillor, with a total of approximately 70 members:

Ex Officio (appointed due to the office they hold, e.g. the Lord Mayor of London)

Meet the Council members

The President
HRH The Princess Royal

The Vice Presidents
Sir C K Chow FREng FCGI
Sir Stuart Hampson FCGI
Professor Dame Julia Higgins DBE FRS FREng FCGI
David Young FCA HonFCGI

Sir John Armitt CBE FREng FCGI

Richard Sermon MBE FCIS HonFCGI

Dr David Wilbraham FCGI

Joint Honorary Secretaries
Allan Johnston HonFCGI
Richard Sermon MBE FCIS HonFCGI

Ex Officio Councillors:

The Rt Hon The Lord Mayor of London
Alderman Fiona Woolf CBE

The President of the Royal Society
Sir Paul Nurse PRS

The Chairman of Council of the Royal Society of Arts
Vikki Heywood CBE

The President of the Royal Academy of Engineering
Sir John Parker GBE FREng FCGI

Appointed Councillors:

The Corporation of London
Alderman Professor Michael Mainelli

Livery Companies of London (18)
Mercers Jacquie Wathen
Grocers Daniel Stewart-Roberts
Drapers Steven Beharrell
Fishmongers Andrew Morgan
Goldsmiths Peter Taylor
Skinners Lady Newall MBE (Penelope)
Merchant Taylors Vacant
Haberdashers Roddy Barrow
Salters Dr The Hon Alexander Todd
Clothworkers Michael Howell HonFCGI
Pewterers Rev Stephen Haines
Tallow Chandlers Sir Christopher Pryke Bt
Saddlers Michael Laurie
Carpenters Michael Neal
Masons Vacant
Joiners and Ceilers Clive Turrell
Needlemakers Michael Lee
Gardeners Rodney Petty

Elected Councillors:

For the term ending at the Yearly Meeting 2014
• Valerie Bayliss CB FCGI
• Bryn Davies (Principal, Ystrad Mynach College and
Chair, City & Guilds’ Wales Advisory Committee)
• Dr Stephen Dowbiggin OBE (Principal, Capel Manor College)
• Professor Chris Hankin FCGI (Director, Institute for
Security Science & Technology, Imperial College, London)
• Marie-Therese McGivern (Principal and CEO, Belfast
Metropolitan College)
• Davide Rodrigues HonFCGI (Chair of Trustees, London Youth)
• Pat Stringfellow MBE HonFCGI (Managing Director, Human
Resource Solutions)

For the term ending at the Yearly Meeting 2015
• Dr Chitra Bharucha MBE FCGI
• Peter Cheese (CEO, CIPD)
• Mary Crowley OBE (President, International Federation
for Parenting Education)
• Professor Brenda Gourley FCGI (former Vice-Chancellor,
Open University)
• Jez Langhorn (Hon Member; Vice-President, People,
McDonalds UK)
• Peter McKee (Former President, TRL Technology)
• John Randall FCGI (Independent Chair, Police Negotiating

For the term ending at the Yearly Meeting 2016
• Sir John Armitt CBE FREng FCGI (Former Chairman, Olympic
Delivery Authority)
• Professor Sir Deian Hopkin FCGI (President,
National Library of Wales)
• Henry Murdoch FCGI (Former Chairman, National Rehabilitation
• Ian Pryce CBE (Chief Executive, Bedford College)
• Francis Sumner HonFCGI (former Partner, Norton Rose)
• Yvonne Thompson CBE (MD, Asap Communications)
• Simon Wethered (Consultant, Charles Russell Solicitors)

For the term ending at the Yearly Meeting 2017
• Eur Ing Simon Bartley FCGI (President, WorldSkills)
• Jon Coles (Chief Executive, United Learning)
• Air Commodore Peter Drissell FCGI (Director,
Aviation Security, Civil Aviation Authority)
• Professor Alison Halstead FCGI (Pro-Vice Chancellor for
Learning, Teaching & Innovation, Aston University)
• Dame Asha Khemka DBE (Principal, Vision West
Nottinghamshire College)
• Dr Maggie Semple OBE FCGI (CEO, The Experience
• Geoff Stanton FCGI (Senior Research Fellow, Institute of
Education, University of London)

Co-opted Councillors

• Rear Admiral Louis Armstrong CBE (former CEO, Royal
Institute of Chartered Surveyors)
• Ian Billyard (Principal, Leeds College of Building)
• Donald Clark (CEO, Plan B Learning)
• Vicki Fagg (Principal, College of Northwest London)
• Dr Christine Fitton (Chair, City & Guilds’ Scottish Advisory
• David Illingworth (Past President, ICAEW)
• Pam Liversidge OBE DL FCGI (MD, Quest Investments Ltd)
• Lord Lucas of Crudwell and Dingwall
• Toni Pearce (President, National Union of Students)
• Stewart Segal (Director, Talent Foundation, Chief Executive
Officer, Association of Employment and Learning Providers
• Iain Smith (former Head of Skills, Transport for London)
• Andy Smyth (Accredited Programmes Manager, TUI Travel,
UK & Ireland)
• Dr Tim Strickland (CEO, FE Sussex)
• Dawn Ward OBE FCGI (Chief Executive and Principal, Burton
and South Derbyshire College)
• Tom Wilson (Director, unionlearn)