t levels top banner

T Levels - Technical education

The new standard for Technical Education 

T Levels are a new level 3 qualification, each equivalent to 3 A Levels and will be worth UCAS points (for example, a T Level Distinction* is worth the same as 3 A Levels at A*). They will be recognised by universities and other education providers for learners who wish to further their studies.

City & Guilds and EAL collaboration

City & Guilds and EAL bring together the strength of two market leading awarding bodies in qualifications and skills development in the construction and built environment sector. Our aims during the development and implementation of this new suite of qualifications are to help people prepare for the world of work, develop in their job and progress on to their next job.

City & Guilds is a global leader in skills development, providing services to training providers, employers, and trainees across a variety of sectors to meet the needs of today’s workplace. EAL is the leading specialist skills partner and awarding organisation for the engineering and advanced manufacturing industry. Committed to investing in the industries they serve and the careers of the people working within them.

Read the announcement

What does a T Level include?

T Levels consist of several components:

  • An approved Technical Qualification (TQ) that provides technical knowledge and practical skills specific to a learner's chosen industry or occupation.
  • ‘On-the-job’ experience during an industry placement of at least 315 hours (approximately 45 days).
  • Functional skills in maths, English and digital at a minimum of Level 2, or GCSEs in English and maths.
  • Transferrable workplace skills.
  • Enrichment and tutorials

Any other requirements set by T Level panel.

City & Guilds offers qualifications in Functional Skills English and Mathematics, where level 2 has not been achieved in these subjects at Key Stage 4

The TQ provides technical knowledge, practical skills and behaviours specific to a learner's chosen industry or occupation, and will make up between 900 and 1400 hours of the two-year T Level programme. The Institute for Apprenticeships and Technical Education (IfATE) will approve the content for the TQ, which they will base on the same standards as apprenticeships. T Levels selected providers are responsible for the delivery and management of the industry placement. You can learn more on the UK Government’s T Levels website.

T Levels will be gradually rolled out over the next few years. By 2023, there will be T Levels available for the following industries:

t levels industry canvas Construction Agriculture, environment and animal care Business and administration Catering and hospitality Childcare and education Creative and design Digital Engineering and manufacturing Hair and beauty Health and science Legal, finance and accounting

To learn more, visit the UK Government’s website.

T Level TQs in On-Site Construction and BSE development

Find out how you can get involved >

Sign up here to receive emails with the latest T Levels information