Qualification comparisons

Not sure what a level 3 really means? Our quick look comparison guide gives you the low down. 

Entry level

City & Guilds = Entry level vocational awards.        
Academic = Scottish intermediate Scottish Access 1-2.

Level 1

City & Guilds = SVQ/NVQ level 1, Level 1 vocational awards, IVQ certificate, Level 1 International Introductory Awards*.
Academic = GCSE grades D - G, 3/Foundations S Grade, Scottish Access 1-2, Foundation GNVQ.

Level 2

City & Guilds = SVQ/NVQ level 2, Level 2 vocational awards, IVQ Technician certificate, IVQ Diploma, Level 2 International awards*.
Academic = GCSE grades A* - C, Scottish intermediate 2/Credit S Grade.
Other = Intermediate GNVQ, BTEC first certificate.

Level 3

City & Guilds = SVQ/NVQ level 3, Level 3 vocational awards, IVQ Technician Diploma, IVQ Advanced Diploma, Level 3 International Awards*. Academic = A-Level, Scottish higher.
Other = AVCE, BTEC National, Certificate/Diploma, Vocational A-Levels.

Level 4

City & Guilds = Licentiateship (LCGI), Higher Professional Diploma, SVQ/NVQ level 4, Level 4 vocational awards
Academic = Undergraduate
Other = Full technical certificate, BTEC HND/HNC

Level 5

City & Guilds = Diploma SVQ/NVQ level 5, Level 5 vocational awards, IVQ Advanced Technician Diploma
Academic = Undergraduate

Level 6

City & Guilds = Graduateship (GCGI), Associateship (ACGI)
Academic = Graduate

Level 7

City & Guilds = Membership (MCGI), Master Professional, Diploma
Academic = Post graduate

Level 8

City & Guilds = Fellowship (FCGI)
Academic = Doctoral

*Nearest comparable level


Related document

Qualifications Comparison application form (DOC, 88KB) >

Qualified logo

The City & Guilds Qualified logo is available to individuals who have achieved a Level 2 qualification or higher.

Apply for the Qualified logo >

Customer who is happy after signing up to Preference Centre.

My Preferences

Sign up to our brand new preference centre to receive communications that are specifically relevant to you.

Sign up now