Y_Scotland_1900x330 jpg

Maths and English qualifications in Scotland

Core skills are broad, transferable skills that help learners develop the main capabilities needed to be active and responsible members of society. The Core Skills Framework is a central part of the Scottish qualifications system.

These SVQ units are usually completed alongside a full SVQ or other vocational qualification.

These units are ideal for learners on apprenticeships and other work-based programmes who need to build, or plug gaps in, their core skills profile using separately certificated workplace evidence. Learners can choose the right level for their experience - from new starter to managerial roles.

Qualifications for learners:

Workplace Core Skills (3658)

Qualifications for centres

All our modern apprenticeships provision feature on the SCQF. The SCQF is the national qualifications framework for lifelong learning in Scotland. It’s a way of comparing the wide range of Scottish qualifications by giving each qualification a level and a number of credit points.

The SCQF has 12 levels and the level of a qualification shows how difficult the learning is.

For more information please visit the SCQF website.

Visit our City & Guilds in Scotland page for more details about the qualifications available.