t levels provider banner



T Levels are a two-year post-GCSE option for young learners. These programmes, developed in collaboration with employers, are the new Gold Standard in technical qualifications.

What T Levels are available?

City & Guilds is delivering eight T Level pathway across four sectors including construction, engineering, business and land-based services:

Who can deliver T Levels?

From September 2023, all providers currently funded to offer classroom-based study programmes to 16- to 19-year-olds will be able to deliver some or all T Levels. To be eligible to deliver T Levels from September 2023, you must have either submitted an expression of interest via the Department for Education portal or informed your DfE rep.

Once you have registered with the DfE you will be able to submit an application during our approval window. The T Levels approval window is now open and will close on Friday 30th June 2023. Applications forms along with links to approval support webinar and approval guidance can be found on the T Levels Resource Hub.

Find out more about our approval process

If you would like to deliver T Levels from September 2025, you must register before midnight on 22 March 2024 to be eligible to receive an up-front funding allocation to support T Level delivery in the 2025-to-2026 academic year.

Read the guidance on the government website 

How you can get in involved in T Levels

Are you interested in getting involved in the development of T Levels? There are still opportunities to get involved in our Animal Care and Management technical qualification. This may include writing, reviewing or validating course content and assessments.

Get involved today

T Level action plan: 2022 to 2023

The T Level Action Plan: This is the most up-to-date document that the Department for Education has published and aims to provide an implementation update for individuals and organisations interested in T Levels.

Read the action plan

Qualifications that overlap with T Levels

The government has recently announced a final list of qualifications that will have 16-to-19 funding withdrawn from 1 August 2025 due to an overlap with wave 3 T Levels (Engineering & Manufacturing, Business & Administration, Legal, Finance & Accounting).

View the list

The government has published final list of qualifications that will have 16-to-19 funding withdrawn for new starts from 1 August 2024 due to overlap with wave 1 and 2 T Levels (Construction & the Built Environment, Digital, Education & Childcare and Health & Science).

View the list

Industry placement

Guidance for providers and employers

This guidance outlines the key roles and responsibilities for providers and employers in delivering high-quality placements at each stage of the placement i.e., pre, during, and post-placement. It also sets out information about what must happen when students have been unable to complete the minimum placement hours before the end of the second year of the T Level programme. 

View the guidance

Connect with employers interested in T Levels

Add the Connect with employers service to your DfE sign in account to ensure you can view over 65 employers from across England interested in T Levels.

Find employers near you

Education Training Foundation (ETF)

If you are delivering – or planning to deliver – T Levels the T Level Professional Development (TLPD) offer from the ETF has been commissioned by the Department for Education and developed with experts in collaboration with learning providers and employers, to support you.

Find out more

Dedicated Exams hub

A new Exams support hub, connected to the new Teaching and Assessment Hub, is now live on the City & Guilds website. The Exams support hub includes new guidance, webinar recordings, FAQs and more to help our customers and learners through the Autumn and Summer series.  

Visit the Exams hub

Providers delivering T Levels and the T Level transition programme

View details of providers selected to deliver T Levels and providers intending to deliver the T Level transition programme.

View the list

construction and bse iconOnsite Construction and Building Services Engineering

From plumbing and bricklaying to heating and ventilation, our level 3 T Level technical qualifications in onsite construction and building services engineering deliver opportunities for learners looking to enter the construction industry.

Find out more

engineering iconEngineering and Manufacturing

Learners can pick from three pathways depending on their interests: Maintenance, Installation & Repair; Engineering, Manufacturing, Processing & Control or Design & Development.

Find out more

management and admin iconManagement and Administration

The qualification will provide learners with an understanding of the Management and Administration sector, and you will cover topics such as: Business Context, People, Quality Compliance, Project, and Change Management.

Find out more

land based iconAgriculture, Environmental and Animal Care

With two pathways, the Agriculture, Environment and Animal Care T Level will provide learners with the technical knowledge and practical skills valued by industry. Agriculture, Land Management and Production is now in delivery. Animal Care and Management is in development and is due for first delivery in September 2024.

Find out more

Sign up here to receive emails with the latest T Levels information