essential digital skills qualifications banner

Essential digital skills qualifications

Essential Digital Skills Qualifications and Digital Functional Skills Qualifications

Essential Digital Skills Qualifications (EDSQ) will be available later this year and will be funded by the government for all adults who need to develop their digital skills in order that they can develop confidence to participate fully, in life and work, in the evolving digital landscape.

Based on the National Digital Standards published by the Department for Education, these new qualifications are designed to support adults in the five Essential Digital Skills areas described in the reformed digital skills framework:

  • Communicating
  • Handling information and content
  • Transacting
  • Problem Solving
  • Being safe and legal online

Qualifications will be available at Entry Level and Level 1 for teaching in England only.

Currently City & Guilds are developing plans for these new qualifications and we are looking for input from customers about what they would like to see from this suite of qualifications.

Please consider completing this survey to have your say.

Digital Functional Skills Qualifications are the intended replacement for the existing Functional Skills ICT suite. This development is currently on hold during the Covid-19 pandemic and this page will be updated when the reform of the FS ICT gets underway again.